Panel for the Future of Science and Technology (STOA) for the European Parliament

STOA is a Panel of Members of the European Parliament (MEPs), established in 1987, with a mission to provide independent expert assessment of scientific and technological developments and related policy options for informed political decision-making in the European Parliament (EP). STOA carries out Technology Assessment and Scientific Foresight projects and organises events such as workshops and presentations.

The STOA Panel decides on STOA's activities and is politically responsible for STOA's work. It is composed of MEPs nominated by eight parliamentary Committees. The STOA Bureau prepares the Panel meetings. The EP's Vice-President responsible for STOA is ex officio member of the STOA Panel and Bureau. The decisions of the Panel are executed by the staff in the Scientific Foresight Unit (STOA) that is part of the Directorate for Impact Assessment and European Added Value of the Directorate-General for Parliamentary Research Services (EPRS). The projects are mostly carried out by external experts (institutes, universities, consultancies, individual researchers) through framework contracts they sign with the EP.

STOA projects provide state-of-play overview of different topics with scientific and/or technological dimension and assess a range of policy options for responsibly deploying and promoting the use of existing and emerging technologies. STOA has recently carried out projects on eco-efficient transport, smart energy grids, agriculture and food security, deep-seabed exploitation, cloud computing, educational technologies, mass surveillance, intellectual property rights, innovation and science metrics. STOA events are intended as discussion forums between MEPs, experts and the public. They can be linked to specific projects or can be organised on other emerging and relevant techno-scientific topics of political relevance.

/* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Normale Tabelle"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0cm; mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman","serif";}


Scientific Foresight Unit (STOA)
European Parliament
Office SQM 02 Y 025
Rue Wiertz 60
B-1047 Brussels
Phone: (+32) 2.284.1629
E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.



Head of Unit: Theodoros KARAPIPERIS
E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.