

Departament de Comunicació

12/12/2011

The Parliament of Catalonia to occupy the presidency of the European Parliamentary Technology Assessment (EPTA) network in 2012

Friday, 9 December 2011, Palace of the Parliament

As of 1 January, the Parliament of Catalonia is to occupy the presidency of the European Parliamentary Technology Assessment (EPTA) network, which groups together the offices and bodies that advise parliaments on science and technology, thus taking over from Germany, this year's presiding country. The Parliament of Catalonia, with the Advisory Board of the Parliament of Catalonia for Science and Technology (CAPCIT), is the only chamber in the Spanish State to have a body of these characteristics, and is one of only two non-state assemblies that belong to EPTA, together with that of Flanders.

CAPCIT will be in charge of organising the two annual meetings held by EPTA: the first, of the directors or heads of the various offices, and the second, of the EPTA Council, which coincides with the annual Conference and is open to MPs and members of the scientific community that advises the parliaments.

Catalonia received the testimony of the EPTA presidency from Germany on 19 October, at a meeting of the Council held at the Bundestag, in Berlin, with the participation of the fourth secretary of the bureau, Dolors Batalla.

CAPCIT, set up in 2008 and currently chaired by Núria de Gispert, is a mixed body: in addition to the secretaries of the bureau (Montserrat Tura and Dolors Batalla) and one MP from each parliamentary group, it is comprised of representatives of the leading scientific and technological institutions of Catalonia, notably including the public universities, the Institute of Catalan Studies, the Catalan Research Support Institution Foundation, and the Catalan Scientific Communication Council.

EPTA is made up of the science and technology assessment offices of the European Parliament and the legislative assemblies of Denmark, Finland, Flanders, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland and the UK. The offices of the Austrian parliament, the Council of Europe, Poland and the USA are EPTA associates.